Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

My Dear Deer

Leave a comment

    I’m slowing making my way through the boxes of Christmas decorations. Wreaths, garlands, candles. Santas, angels, nutcracker, Santa fire fighters, fire fighters, nutcracker Santas… you get the picture.

No tree yet. The DH promises that will go up this weekend. So will the lights. Unfortunately this year, there will be no deer. My dear deer. (picture my sad face here)

When we first moved to our home in Aiea I bought a grazing doe and a standing deer – both animated. One nodded and the other shook its head. I bought in on a trip to Home Depot alone, because the DH would have discouraged their purchase.

My plans were to put them on our lawn, but that first year the yard was more dirt than grass and so I found a place for them inside the house in an odd crawl space. Actually, it was a perfect place.

This afternoon, I dutifully assembled the pair only to find half the lights didn’t work. I tried for a good 20 minutes to identify the burnt out culprit to no avail. Just one deer would not work, so both will be discarded. Nine years of holiday brilliance are past.

Now, when can I go to shopping alone for their replacement?

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

