Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

Out of the Mouths of Babes

Leave a comment

Papo with KidI and my NephewC

My dad, we call him Papo, prides himself as being sarcastic, cheap, and generally grouchy. In fact, when my kids tease him that he’s their grouchy, old, grandpa (I guess sarcasm is hereditary), he encourages the moniker.

So yesterday he was doing his schtick as the kids were asking what he got them for Christmas. He was claiming he didn’t give gifts and the KidC came back tauntingly ¬†by saying, “It’s as if you have no heart!” So Papo jumped on that and said, “Nope, I’ve got no heart at all.” Kid A got in on the action trying to prove he did have a heart because he loved them, and loved my mom, and loved M&Ms…

They were going back and forth and then KidI spoke up and quietly said, “But Papo, do you have a soul?”

Surprised, I heard my father pause and slowly admit, “Yes” he did have a soul.

She responded, matter-of-factly, “Well, if you have a soul, then you have a heart.” Then she went back to swinging on the chin up bar he has in his door frame, content she had proved her point.

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

