Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

Too Many Memes

Leave a comment

That’s memes. It rhymes with dreams. 

You know those posts that go viral on Facebook? The ones people copy and post and then get copied and posted over and over again. You’ve seen the “I’m going to Paris for 6 months” or “On the kitchen table” posts and then done a quick search to see what possible way these post would lead us to all be more aware of our breasts.

Well, today I realized that I’m mis-reading way too many things. I blame those meme puzzlers. You know, the ones where you are shown just the bottom half of words but can still read the paragraph because our brains are incredible about filling in the missing letter parts based how we interpret word shape and boundaries.

Just a few minutes ago I read a tweet that said, “Veterinarians Respond To Over Population Of Cats” and I immediately thought … now why would veterans care about the over population of cats?

Yesterday, I kept wondering what was up with the “MLK Celebrations.” I mean, I think milk does a body good, but what’s the connection with Martin Luther King day?

At the beginning of the year I kept being amazed at how many people were traveling to Honolulu AND using the HNL airport code to tweet it. NOT! They were tweeting HNY. You know, the shortcut for Happy New Year!

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve replaced words that begin with the br- blend and substituted breast and wondered why in the world there are commercials about the breast insurance plans and all the breast comedies on one channel. Yeah, I’m totally blaming memes on this, because it’s not at all a subconscious obsession with breasts. But while we’re on the subject, I think I read a tweet about free mammograms being offered by Kapiolani Medical Center. No really.

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

