Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

Voices in My Head

Leave a comment

VoicesThere’s a song on the radio with the lyrics:

I’m friends with the monster that’s under my bed
Get along with the voices inside of my head
You’re trying to save me, stop holding your breath
And you think I’m crazy, yeah you think I’m crazy

I am amused by “getting along with the voices inside of my head.” I hear the song often enough because that’s what our radio stations do, play the same songs every 2-3 hours. (Sorry, distracted there for a moment.)

I’m sure the lyrics mean something entirely different from how I interpret them (see Lyrically Challenged), but I imagine that I get along quite well with the voices inside my head.

There are the ones that tell me to say something positive or supportive. There are the ones who that say stick up for someone or an idea. Then there are the ones who shout, “Christina! DO. NOT. Say another word!”

See, I can get along… well, most of the time. Okay, some of the time. Fine, “get along” is not the same as “listen to” in my book. Just so you know.

See, here’s the thing. I know that my friends (and most of my family) know that I have difficulty listening to that small, still voice that attempts to filter my actual voice (or have just come to accept that about me). They know and have come to appreciate the type of crazy I got going on. They also will actually be up front and tell me if I have offended or been insensitive. I can handle it. Usually. Eventually. (Honestly, people from my past will tell you I’ve gotten much better, less obnoxious and can say I’m empathetic without laughing.)

The point is, if you have been on the receiving end of my unfiltered voice and I have hurt you or shocked you or offended you, I apologize. I’m pretty sure it will happen again.

I’m posting a blog every day this month for NaBloPoMo!

20131101-183925.jpg

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

