Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

Being Healthy

Leave a comment

IMG_4334I broke down today and went to see the doctor. My eyes have been increasingly itchy and watery and red. I thought it was something I picked up on one of my site visitations to various elementary schools I’ve been touring as part of my job. I thought it was the vog and allergies. I thought it might be a reaction to a change in skin care products.

Everyone offered suggestions. Warm compress. Clean all your makeup brushes. Throw out all make up. Wash all sheets and pillowcases in hot water. Change face soap. Go without makeup for a few days. Get more sleep. Drink more water. Exercise more. (Those last few probably are true in any situation!)

Well, rubbing my eyes and wearing sun glasses and carrying around a tissue to wipe my eyes all the time finally was something that needed to end. I called in sick and made a doctor’s appointment.

Results? Red eyes probably mean a bacterial infection. Got a prescription for that. Itchy eyes are usually caused by allergies. Got an over-the-counter vial of drop for that. If it still persists I’m to see an optometrist. Oh, and since it’s been a while since I’ve seen any doctor? Why lucky me! I’ve got myself a mammogram and gynecologist appointments scheduled. Whoo hoo! Oh, and remember how we get concerned about your blood pressure and pre-diabetes because you had KidC eleven weeks early? Well let’s draw some blood. Results? Most of your numbers are headed in the wrong direction. Focus on keeping the blood pressure down and your potassium level is too high so immediately go on a low potassium diet — because I was totally looking forward to those sitting around this weekend eating bananas plan.

Well, nothing like getting set straight about the importance of being healthy. Here’s to a renewed outlook on personal care. Hey, I’ll look at it as a jump start on New Year resolutions.

I’m posting a blog every day this month for NaBloPoMo!

20131101-183925.jpg

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

