Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

It’s Like We’re Amish

Leave a comment

IMG_4349Okay, okay, I know I’m not Amish, however for a brief moment today I imagined we were. Okay, okay, I like to imagine. My mind is often like Walter Mitty only without the clever onomatopoeia.

This morning we woke up earlier than usual (well except for KidC who was up at 5 AM and off to a Debate Tournament at 5:30 AM with Papo & Mama — topic for another blog entry). Our destination was Auntie Cindy’s house where the DH was going to help my cousin’s hubby start to build a covered patio. Heavy lifting was involved and my aunt called in the nephews and nephew-in-laws to pitch in.

See! We were just like the Amish and having barn raising parties. Fine, they don’t have “parties” per se, however I see how valuable and fun it is to have the community come together to contribute to something.

IMG_4346While the men folk were building, us women folk (girl cousins) caught up on gossip, tried various hairstyles, and prepared the food for breakfast, breaks, and lunch. (Okay, fine, did the Zippy’s run and set out the paper goods.) The next generation of cousins played in and out of the house, offered help and got in the way and basically had a wonderful morning. And of course, after putting in the effort, we call can’t wait to have more family parties at Auntie’s house, now with a covered patio!

I’m posting a blog every day this month for NaBloPoMo!

20131101-183925.jpg

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

