Slight Turbulence

Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on. From here to the eyes and the ears of the 'verse, that's my motto. Or at least it would be, if I start having a motto.

Throw Back to the First Day of School

Leave a comment

KidI started school last Friday. KidC and KidA got a reprieve because as “upperclassmen,” didn’t need to attend first day orientations. It was their first day today so their usual summer slumber was replaced by the chaotic coordination of three bodies in and out of the bathroom. They headed out to catch their 6:55 AM school bus, while I prodded KidI to move a little faster with her morning routine. Before I knew it, KidI was off, the DH was off, and I was heading off myself.

At my morning break I happened to glance at my Twitter notifications. My post earlier of KidI at the bus stop joined several other #1stdayofschool pictures in my stream and I realized I missed taking a picture of the older children as they headed off. At lunch, I realized if I left work right on time, I could probably make it home before their bus and take. their. Picture!! (Thank goodness their bus schedule is inefficient and makes no sense.)

There I stood, grinning like a fool, taking pictures. Strangely, they wanted to get inside as quickly as possible.

IMG_6451IMG_6452IMG_6453

Of course, I made them stop again and take a picture by our garden banner. (This is where we usually take our first day of summer school picture but since we traveled this summer, there was no picture.)

IMG_6455

Pleased with myself, I immediately opened my computer to ensure I saved the picture for posterity (err, embarrassing wedding slide shows) and panic set in as my iPhoto application wouldn’t startup. I tried rebuilding the thumbnails. Then I attempted to repair the permissions. Finally, after verifying the disk I began to rebuild the photo database. Whew! That worked. And then there were 30 “new” pictures. Pictures from 2005. Pictures including the June 15, 2005 summer school first day picture of KidC and KidI! What!!?? It’s as if those little creatures who work in my laptop knew exactly what needed to happen. Awwww… so adorable!


DSC00236

 

 

Author: Christina

Wife, mother, daughter, teacher... read more and find out more about me.

Leave a Reply

